Five songs from 2012

I’m always a little a) panicked and yet b) unconvinced by all these end of year list of the top 100 albums and such like. Panicked because I’ve rarely heard more than a handful, and I think I ought to have heard more, and unconvinced because I’m just not persuaded that there’s ever more than at the most ten great records released in any given year. So here’s just a modest top 5 of things I heard and liked in 2012.

TOY – Dead and Gone

I just love this, it’s genius, especially the last two minutes. Play it loud.

Swans – The Seer Returns

Not an easy album to get into, but it’s worth it. Very dark, atmospheric, and very long – the title track alone is over 30 minutes. They’re playing at Arnolfini in April and I have my ticket.

Antlered Man – Platoono of Uno

One of the new bands I saw at The Great Escape in Brighton last year. Very good live, and this is a great, weird track.

Tame Impala – Elephant

I’m not entirely convinced by them – they’re a bit too proggy for me – but this is a glam rock stomp, very Marc Bolan, and it’s brilliant.

Savages – City’s Full

Saw them at Thekla in 2012. They haven’t got recorded much yet, and I can’t say that any individual track has particularly grabbed me, but I like the overall sound, that Banshees/ Joy Division thing they’ve got going on.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tom  On February 25, 2013 at 1:59 am

    Very interesting! Loving your music taste, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,357 other followers

