Musings on Norwich North (irrelevant musings)

Quote from the victorious Tory candidate in Norwich North “This isn’t about me jumping off here and then going and living up on expenses for the three summer months.” I don’t think she’d be in a position to do so anyway. I think I’m right in saying she won’t get on the payroll for wages or allowances until she’s sworn in when Parliament returns on October 12th, so she could be in a difficult position re setting up an office and employing staff but I expect someone at Conservative Central Office, where she’d be working on secondment, will keep her head above water till then.
I’m also not sure she’s even allowed to call herself the Member of Parliament till she has taken the oath – although the Sinn Fein MPs have never done so. And actually, they can claim allowances and I assume they get paid. So maybe I’m wrong on all the above!
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

