Fish heads

By popular demand, and to mark UN International Day for Biodiversity, I will now reveal all about the blobfish which has served as my Twitter avatar since May 8th. What purpose does it serve, this humble blobfish? What coded political message is its presence intended to convey?

Some have suggested it marks a post-election descent into misery, that I’m moping about like a blobfish, unable to raise a smile. Some think it’s meant to be Eric Pickles. (That would be cruel).

Others claim it sends out a message that the ConDem coalition may abandon the lowly, the unloved, the aesthetically challenged, but Labour is still on their side. (I say others. I mean me. I think I have a point). 

And some think it’s a semi-serious campaign to highlight the plight of an endangered species, which it is kind of evolving into, I suppose. Speaking of evolution, here’s a video  

The truth is actually that I thought I ought to get rid of the “I’m voting Labour on May 6th” avatar because it was May 8th or 9th or whatever. Call me a pedant, but there you are. And the only pic I could find on the desktop of my netbook was the blobfish. Quite how I came across the blobfish pic in the first place, or why I thought it worth saving, I don’t know.

And as to why I didn’t just Google myself, or lift a picture off my website… well the truth is, after a long election campaign and tens of thousands of leaflets going through doors, I don’t think I could bear to see any more pictures of myself for a very long time. So the blobfish it is…

PS As for the title – does anyone else remember this? Doesn’t really start till 2mins 15.  

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ms Humphrey Cushion  On May 23, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Who are all these people speaking of my darling Eric Pickles in such a demeaning way? Oops.. My bad.

  • Dave Cross  On May 23, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I had the song in my head as soon as I read the title of your post. Memories of Sunday afternoons listening to the Annie Nightingale show on Radio One.

    “Eat them up. Yum!”

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

