Turn it on

I’ve been listening to 6 Music tonight, and they’ve just played “Begging Begging” by James Brown, which I taped off the Peel Show years ago and haven’t heard for years. I don’t actually like the James Brown stuff that everyone likes (I call it”the sweaty stuff”, you know, the grunting and “get on up” type stuff). But I love his early tracks, which was proper soul music.

Anyway, today was the deadline for responding to the official BBC consultation on the future of 6 Music. I hope lots of you took the opportunity to submit your views. It’s a great station.

Tonight we had  three live Flaming Lips tracks I’d never heard before, something that sounded a bit like the Super Furry Animals but I didn’t catch the name (liked it a lot), and some frankly dodgy jazzy prog rock (but I’ll forgive them for that.)

It’s a music station for people who love music. Not like Radios 1 and 2 where the music often, with honourable exceptions, seems incidental. #save6music!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

