Frontline

I wondered why no-one had commented on this… then realised I hadn’t actually posted it! The following was written on Thursday.

I was asked today if I wanted to join the Work and Pensions team as a Shadow Minister (until the autumn, when we have Shadow Cabinet elections and reshuffles by the new Leader). Very happy to accept, as I wanted to focus pretty heavily on DWP issues this session anyway. IDS has two Bills in the Queen’s Speech, one on Welfare Reform and one on Pensions (which will be steered through Parliament by my neighbour, Steve Webb, who’s the new Pensions Minister). Think I need to do some reading up on what IDS has been saying today!

I’ll also be staying in the Whips’ Office, still covering Education, Northern Ireland, DFID and the Leader’s Office I assume. But I’ll be able to speak in the Chamber as a backbencher on other issues, so it’s going to be a busy time.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Genji Monogatari  On May 29, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Does this mean you’ll be going head-to-head with Chris Grayling, Philippa Stroud and, er, Frank Field?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

