Gaza

The two Bristolians who were on the flotilla to Gaza are Sakir Yildirim, from Fishponds, and Cliff Hanley, from Southville.

Sakir is a constituent of mine. I’ve called the Foreign Office to check whether he is OK. They told me he was not on their list – i.e. no-one until then had informed them he was on the boat, but they would add his name to it and pass it on to their people on the ground who are making enquiries. I’m expecting a call back if they have any news. They have also asked his family to get in touch, so if anyone knows them, can they pass on the FCO switchboard number – 0207 008 1500.

I will say more later but this is a rushed post in between doing other things, and obviously with an issue like this I don’t want to post in haste.

Postscript: Typically, in my haste, I saved rather than published the above post yesterday! I’ve now been informed by the Foreign Office that everyone is being held at Beersheva prison and will be deported.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

