Don’t worry about the Gove[rnment]

I’ve got to write a blogpost tonight for the New Statesman about why I’ve nominated Ed Balls for the leadership. I’ve already blogged about it on here, and will link to the New Statesman piece too (when I finally get round to writing it) but here’s a couple of pieces that, to me, sum up why Ed has got what it takes to lead us into the next election.

First;y, here’s a letter he’s written to Michael Gove (taken from the excellent new Labour Uncut site) about spending cuts. Some in the Labour Party seem slightly stunned by the fact we lost the election, and haven’t quite worked out how we “do” Opposition yet. Some seem to have accepted the rewriting of history by the Coalition and parts of the press: that Labour ‘failed’ in Government. Ed has stormed into action, as we all should. We shouldn’t be cowed by defeat. We should be out there defending our record, and fighting tooth and nail to protect Labour’s proudest achievements from Tory/ Lib Dem cuts.

And here’s Ed in action during the Queen’s Speech debate last week.

Postscript: Obviously talk today has been around Ed’s article for the Observer about EU immigration and its impact on the labour market. I’m gearing myself up to blog about that, but don’t think I can do it justice tonight – got lots of other homework!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • raincoatoptimism  On June 6, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    even in light of his comments on immigration, I can’t quite understand what he had to gain by blaming Eastern Europeans for job depression in the UK.

    Being the left candidate he should have at least engaged with reports of employers lowering wages, or reminded us of what the wildcat strikes at the Lindsey oil refinery were really about. This would’ve both highlighted the idiocy of the BNP vote, and symbolised that Ed is not going to stand and be walked over by the managerial class.

    Instead he whipped tension.

  • kerrymccarthy  On June 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Not sure what to make of the fact that of all the people who have viewed this blogpost in the past hour, no-one saw fit to comment on the fact I’d linked to Michael Stipe singing Find the River, not Ed Balls at the Dispatch Box. Hmmm…

  • raincoatoptimism  On June 6, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I quite like that song so I didn’t complain

  • StevenL  On June 10, 2010 at 12:36 am

    It’s all smoke and mirrors, I mean they’ve even nicked your off-balance sheet ‘non-government’ borrowing ‘green investment bank’ idea.

    I can’t make my mind up whether I’ll be crossing zeros off the tenner in my wallet in a few years time or be staring at boarded up high streets because the yanks have got sick of the dodgy debt shuffling and started destroying money again.

    I’m minded to go 90% silver, 5% proshare ultrashorts on China crashing into a deflationary quagmire and 5% proshare ultrashorts on US T Bills crashing as interest rates go through the roof.

    As that devils kitchen guy would say – a plague on all your houses!

Leave a Reply

