Movin’ on up*

Aahhuuuuuuuwhwhhwhwh…. Which is my (not very successful) way of trying to indicate a big, big sigh.

On Thursday afternoon I was accosted by George Mudie, the accommodation whip, who had made it his personal mission not to leave for his Leeds constituency until he’d managed to allocate a particular empty office (way) above the Members’ Tearoom, in the Palace.

Despite being very happy with my new mousehole office in Star Chamber Court, I agreed to take a look, the end result being that I agreed to move to an office that is (a) twice the size, (b) more or less as conveniently located although the stairs are a bit of a killer, and (c) smells a bit funny.  There is a sign on the desk instructing me not to open the windows because it makes the pipes in the cooling system drip, but I’m ignoring that until the smell has g0ne. I think the previous occupant was a very old MP who enjoyed a crafty fag or two in the office.

So Thursday was spent, not putting in written parliamentary questions on welfare reform as I’d planned, but packing everything into crates again. And of course, those crates, which were supposed to have been transferred from the old office to the new one while I was in the constituency on Friday, have gone missing…. I suppose they’ll turn up eventually, by which time I will be too busy to unpack and will end up living/ working out of crates again until the Finance Bill is over.

* Am I right in thinking the vid for this, by Primal Scream, was amazing, with lots of fractals which at the time was really innovative? Can only find live versions on YouTube.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thebristolblogger  On July 5, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I think the video was a black and white, Rolling Stonesy, Ready Steady Go looking job with a cool-looking gospel choir (I’m a sucker for gospel choirs, mind).

    Can’t imagine what you might have been up to at the time to misremember quite so psychedelically?

  • Tony Dyer  On July 5, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Here’s the video:

    http://vodpod.com/watch/2985594-primal-scream-movin-on-up

    Definitely Black and White.

  • ben  On July 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    This is the official video for moving on up – the fractals must have been in your head Kerry…

    http://vodpod.com/watch/2985594-primal-scream-movin-on-up

  • kerrymccarthy  On July 6, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    I *think* I was thinking of the video for Loaded. Right band, wrong song? But still can’t find it…

  • thebristolblogger  On July 6, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Loaded?

    Bonus points available if you can name the film (without using Google) that the intro’s taken from …

  • kerrymccarthy  On July 7, 2010 at 1:12 am

    “We just want to be free… to do what we want. And to have a good time”. It was Easy Rider, wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

