Moth in the incubator

I blogged a while ago about the fact that moths had taken over my London flat and munched their way through my winter wardrobe (seriously, hundreds of pounds worth of wrecked clothes). I’ve been living in that flat for the past year, but they only put in an appearance in the past couple of months. They’re tiny little brown things, the size of flies.

Obviously quite a dilemma for a person of my vegan sensibilities.  I spent quite a bit of time looking on the internet for humane alternatives to just bashing the hell out of them. And in the meantime I adopted a routine of keeping my new winter clothes in my office in Parliament, out of harm’s way. Or so I thought.

I’ve now realised that the corridors above the Commons chamber are absolutely infested with the damn things. There are sticky strips all along the skirting boards displaying moth corpses, which I’ve only just spotted. Despute this, there are still plenty of them who have thus far escaped a sticky fate, flying around or lurking in dark corners, waiting to wreak havoc and destruction.

This explains a lot. I only moved into this office at the start of summer recess. They’ve followed me home. I am now in the morally tricky position of actually being quite pleased that the House of Commons authorities are trying to eradicate the little blighters, whilst not personally being prepared to resort to the same methods myself. But does that make me complicit in the crime? If I was a good vegan would I not go round secretly removing the killer sticky moth strips and replacing them with cedar balls (which probably don’t work)?  Do my new clothes matter more to me than the lives of tiny little moths? (Yes!)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • kerrymccarthy  On November 9, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Well it is kind of important in my line of work not to wear clothes with lots of holes in them!

  • TheBoilingFrog  On November 9, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Do my new clothes matter more to me than the lives of tiny little moths? (Yes!)

    I presume you will now apply that logic to farmers whose chickens get decimated by foxes.

  • Minnie  On November 16, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Lavender bags?
    Nope, that’s not an insult. Honest: moths apparently don’t like the odour of lavender, or so I’m told by neighbours, friends – and all the artisanal growers who flog the stuff around here! Might be worth a try, tho’.

  • marigold  On November 20, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Well, I am sure you could buy a new wardrobe on your expenses account ! Vegan ? what do you people eat anyway ? I suspect your people that don’t really eat anything normal but then gorge yourselves on choclate ! There is nothing wrong in eating steaks, bacon, eggs, cheese, milk. I mean could you enlighten us as to what food vegans can actually eat !

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

