Louder than War

As I mentioned in the previous piece, I’ve been writing a few posts for other blogs… including this one, for Louder than War, a music website recently launched by John Robb.

It’s in response to Suzanne Moore’s piece in Saturday’s Guardian, which accuses us (MPs) of not liking music…

My Louder Than War piece is flagged “The Guardian says MPs dont like music: Kerry McCarthy MP disagrees”. Actually I’m not sure I do disagree…. Depends what you mean by “liking” music as opposed, I suppose to “loving” it or caring about it more than people who buy X Factor records do – and who are we to judge whether those records mean any less to them than, say, our obscure indie favourites do to us? Tom Harris is an obsessive Genesis fan, several Tory MPs are into heavy metal in a big way, do they count as MPs who like music?

As a result of the Guardian piece I was also asked to write something for the Spectator Arts Blog – which is great actually. Blood on the Tracks, Sub Pop records AND Bridget Riley on one page, what more could you ask? And obviously the blog title alone indicates that the editor of the site is a Person of Immense Good Taste.

My post isn’t up yet, and will post link when it is, but basically I was asked to respond to Suzanne’s (perfectly valid) criticisms of the music played at Labour Conferences, and I’ve come up with some rather tongue-in-cheek suggestions, none of which will be taken up by the Conference organisers… Unless we can convince them about Elvis.

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stuart Bruce  On December 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    I suppose my experience is skewed having worked with Alan Johnson for the deputy leadership election and Andy Burnham for the leadership election. Two people more obsessed, or indeed knowledgeable, about music it would be hard to find – inside or out of Parliament!

    • kerrymccarthy  On December 14, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Yes, I was talking to AJ during last night’s votes – he’s a real afficionado… Don’t necessarily share his taste on anything, but in some ways he’s more clued up on what’s going on than I am, in terms of decent-ish mainstream music. His son’s working with Noel Gallagher at the moment.

      Maybe I should compile a list – MPs who are ‘into’ music… But do we allow Tom Harris and his Genesis fixation onto it?

Leave a Reply

