#yestoAV #notoAV #mehtoAV

Earlier this week I stuck up a new poll on my ‘official’ website, on the forthcoming AV referendum. (Forthcoming that is, if the Government can gets it legislation through the House by mid-February; it’s currently languishing in Committee in the Lords where the proposals to gerrymander constituency boundaries are being given the intense scrutiny they deserve.)

I’ve now received an email from an AV supporter, which mentions that the Yes to Fairer Votes campaign has alerted its supporters to my poll – which may explain why, at the moment, there’s a very significant majority in support of AV. he asked who else has been asked to participate…. Well, the answer is – regular readers of the website, anyone who’s seen me plugging it on Twitter and on here, and well, anyone else who stumbles across it.  I suppose for it to be a genuine consultation exercise I’d have to find a way to link it to people’s postcodes, and ask them to confirm they’re a constituent before they vote. As it stands, it’s far from scientific…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • woodsy  On January 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Hi Kerry

    I should point out it is possible to vote as many times as one wants on your poll during the same visit to your site. This may also be skewing your results.

    If you don’t know how this is done, please email me and I’ll reveal all.

    • kerrymccarthy  On January 15, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      It shouldn’t be possible…. didn’t use to be! (Use to be? That sounds wrong… I’m sure you’ll tell me if it is).

      • woodsy  On January 15, 2011 at 5:07 pm

        I’ve sent you an email rather than spell out the details here (although any person with moderate technical competence could probably work it out).

        It’s ‘used to be’. 🙂

      • kerrymccarthy  On January 17, 2011 at 12:49 am

        Thanks. Used to be sounds wrong too! And ‘moderate technical competence’ might be a bit beyond me…

  • Danny Hackett  On January 17, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Ah! – I did this on my blog, http://www.dannyhackett.wordpress.com Promise I did not copy you! 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

