Here comes the summer…

Summer is here, I’ve got the balcony doors open and a fine view of the boats in the Floating Harbour and of people more sociable than myself (and more fond of cider) drinking at the Apple. For non-Bristolians, the Apple is a boat/ pub which serves cider in many different varieties. It also plays pretty good music in the downstairs bar – but seeing as I’m here and not there, this is the ‘summer’ playlist I’m working along to tonight…. not a ‘top twenty’ as such, just what I felt like listening to…*

April Skies – Jesus and Mary Chain
Behind a Painted Smile – the Isley Brothers
Burn Rubber on Me – the Gap Band
(Drawing) Rings Around the World – Super Furry Animals
Get the Message – Electronic
Heavenly Pop Hit – The Chills
Ill Fated – Golden Smog
It’s a Crying Shame – Len Barry
Knife Slits Water – A Certain Ratio

Pure – Lightning Seeds
Ready for the Floor – Hot Chip
Sofa of My Lethargy – Supergrass
Stoned out of my Mind – the Chi-lites
Summer Here Kids – Grandaddy
Sorry for Laughing – Josef K
The Unguarded Moment – the Church

You Say You Don’t Love Me – the Buzzcocks

Velocity Girl – Primal Scream

*I’m also trying to compile a ‘driving in the car with the top down’ playlist. Any suggestions? (By which I don’t mean Bruce Springsteen or that song by Five, the one that goes ‘top down/ got the city on lock down’ or something like that…)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Andy  On April 19, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    A few of my fave’s

    Nailing Honey to the Bee – The Brian Jonestown Massacre
    Mansion in the Sky – The Brian Jonestown Massacre
    Little Arithmetics – Deus
    TV Song – Moondog Jr
    Only Shallow – My Bloody Valentine
    Cut Your Hair – Pavement
    Good Fortune – PJ Harvey
    Hello Sunshine – Super Furry Animals
    This is the Day – The The

    • kerrymccarthy  On April 19, 2011 at 11:53 pm

      Yes, some good stuff in there… should always be a Pavement track on every playlist!

  • RingsofSteeleditor  On April 19, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Re car top-down playlist

    Not a Five fan…..? had no idea!

    1. ADF – New Way New Life: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jywa9oK3ytU

    2. The Clash – Bankrobber: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJkNstUF3GA

    3. Captain Ska – Liar Liar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQFwxw57NBI

    ….. Don’t know if its all your bag, but I’d certainly blast out Bankrobber and ADF if I had the top down, with the city and/or town on lockdown

    • kerrymccarthy  On April 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm

      The first two work for me…

      • RingsofSteeleditor  On April 20, 2011 at 12:11 am

        I’d have thought the Labourite in you might have revelled [perhaps secretly] in the Captain Ska track as well. But, if two outta three suffices for Meatloaf, I suppose I should be happy enough with that.

Leave a Reply

