“It’s PD gone mad”…

Philip Davies is another usual suspect on Fridays, usually doing his ‘political correctness gone mad’ comedy routine. Today he has suggested that disabled people should work for less than the minimum wage, to compensate for the fact that most employers would rather have someone who isn’t disabled than someone who is, so they ought to tout themselves around for a ‘bargain price’. His words of course, not mine. This is how the Mirror is reporting the story. I’ll post the actual Hansard link when it appears…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Steve Woods  On June 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I’d like to try an experiment: chop one of Philip Davies’ legs off and then ask him if he’ll work for less than £5.93 an hour. 😉

  • Kathryn Rose  On June 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Since he expects these people to work for less than minimum wage: has he got any plans to provide them with reduced utility bills? How about reduced rents? No? So he is arguing for people with disabilities to have a lower standard of living then. #Disgraceful.

  • scottspeig  On June 17, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    An interesting quandery.

    Since it is obvious that a job which pays minimum wage will employ the able-bodied. While I dislike the notion that disabled people aren’t worth as much as able-bodied people, I actually agree with Philip Davies.

  • Lee  On June 17, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I’m 49 years old, have Asperger’s syndrome and have never worked. In order to get my first job I need to be able to offer an employer something, and I think that being able to work for less than minimum wage might just do it.

    I doubt that financially I’d be any worse off due to the complicated interaction between the various benefits I receive and the fees I have to pay to Social Services for my care.

Leave a Reply

