Soundtrack for the factory floor

Disappointed to hear that Factory Floor will be playing at the 50th anniversary party at the Arnolfini. Disappointed because they’re brilliant, it’s five minutes walk from my flat, it’ll be a fantastic venue for them and…. it’s Saturday September 24th, which means I will be on my way to Liverpool for Labour conference. OK, technically conference doesn’t start till Sunday afternoon, but the train service is different on the Sunday and looks like a journey to avoid if possible. So this is very annoying. I am still toying with should I, shouldn’t I….

A couple of months ago I caught the end half of a short Factory Floor set at The Great Escape in Brighton. Absolutely amazing… Rooted in electronic/ industrial/ dance music of three decades ago, which I was into at the time but think I like even more now. The perfect soundtrack for the bleak times we’re living in…

Here are some of the best…. A few notes. Cabaret Voltaire get two mentions because its quite a leap from Nag Nag Nag to Sensoria, but both great. Video for Sensoria is one of my favourites. And yes, Simple Minds weren’t always pompous stadium rock. And I remembered late last night that I’d forgotten someone really obvious, but have now forgotten again… So apologies, whoever you are.

PS… It’s a great soundtrack to late night motorway driving. Playlist it!

Cabaret Voltaire: Nag Nag Nag

Joy Division: Isolation

Simple Minds: I Travel

D.A.F. Der Mussolini

A Certain Ratio: Do the Du

Human League: Being Boiled (Fast version)

Cabaret Voltaire: Sensoria

23 Skidoo: Coup

Clock DVA: Beautiful Losers

Chakk: Out of the Flesh

Test Department: Compulsion

Mark Stewart and the Mafia: Hysteria

And here’s some Factory Floor for those of you who haven’t stumbled upon them yet. The second one is very different from the first, and yes, it’s very Fall-ish. But I like both.

Factory Floor: Wooden Box

Factory Floor: You Were Always Wrong

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Mossrogers  On August 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Far Gadget?

  • Rob Marchant (@rob_marchant)  On August 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Ah, I Travel. Having heard “Don’t You Forget About Me”, people just don’t understand that Simple Minds were once near-genius. Thanks for reminding us.

  • Guarin  On August 22, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    The Normal?

Leave a Reply

