Happy pork

I tweeted a link to this earlier but tweets doesn’t have much longevity, and I think it deserves to be somewhere people can find it. Another undercover expose of cruelty at a pig farm.

I put down some written PQs last year about the fact that this Government won’t take out prosecutions on the basis of undercover footage (which has, technically, been illegally obtained) whereas the Labour government did. Or perhaps I wrote to the Minister instead; I couldn’t find the Qs online just now. That was in the wake of another story – sorry, yet another Daily Mail link! – about a Viva! investigation into the treatment of pigs at an abbattoir last summer.

The meat industry is keen to convince people that farmed animals are ‘happy’ – try a quick Google search for happy meat or happy pork… (can something that is dead be happy?) There were billboards up in my constituency a few months ago proclaiming its virtues. And people pay a premium price for such products.

I’m going to have another go at asking Paice whether he will act on this.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Quietzaple  On February 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Does sound like propaganda.

    However it is certainly true there is good and bad animal husbandry, leaving the ending of the creatures to one side.

    I knew the man who introduced S Pacific oysters to Britain. Labour supporter.

    He was very critical of those who grow shellfish in nets and do not increase the size of net to accommodate the shellfish as they grow larger. This results in deformed shells at the least.

    Quite how better husbandry should be briefly described I don’t know.

  • Quietzaple  On February 12, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Actually “Happy pork” as a phrase resembles “Happy talk” in the song from “The King and I” which renders it quite surreal: “Happy/ Happy, happy, happy pork” to that tune is very odd.

  • Steven J. Oram  On February 13, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    I’ve toyed with the idea of becoming vegetarian for years. But last week I watched Life in a Day, last year’s crowdsourced drama/documentary film, and there was a scene in that in which a cow is slaughtered. The thing is – sorry if this is upsetting – the cow seemed to know that it was the subject of attention, looking anxiously at different people. And when the guy places the bolt-pistol above the cow’s head – it is clearly trying to strain to get away. How did it know? Don’t know – but it shook me up: it knew too much for a ‘dumb’ animal.

  • Paul Bemmy Down  On February 14, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    I think it was Animalaid who exposed the cruelty to pigs. I won’t eat pork and am surprised we still allow it’s import from abroad, where pigs are treated very badly. It really is a farce that undercover evidence cannot be used in court and am at a loss to see why? I remember when there were protests against the live exports of Lambs, pre 1997 and I thought Tony Blair was sympathetic to that cause, but it still goes on today and I’m afraid that profit still trumps ethics.

Leave a Reply

