Tainted by Tory toe-tapping

In another example of synchronicity, two pieces on the same day about what happens if someone you don’t like starts liking the same music as you.

Stewart Lee in the Guardian musing about whether he can still like Gillian Welch if David Cameron “has tapped his Tory toe to it” and John Robb on Louder than War imagining David Cameron getting all sweaty in the moshpit at a Smiths’ gig.

I must admit I have a very long list of people who I don’t think should be allowed to like Joy Division. Top of the list are people who claim to like Joy Division and U2. That’s not possible. As Johnny Marr would say, I forbid it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Quietzaple  On February 12, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    I think someone recently tweeted that if we’re all going to heaven he hoped they’d be classifying us according to musical genre.

    Jigs, schottisches and waltzes … ‘nd Russian Orthodox choral, Undertones, Jimmy Durante, Dionne Warwick, me in the bath ..

  • Stevie X  On February 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    Contentious stuff, Kerry. As a huge Joy Division fan of 30-plus years’ standing (I started young and had the benefit of a family connection), I think that you can like both bands.

    U2 have often acknowledged a debt of influence – and you can hear this on a track like A Day Without You, which nods quite heavily towards Transmission, though I believe it was some kind of tribute to Curtis.

    Joy Division were and are the better of the two bands, but at least when viewed contemporaneously, are much closer to each other than many would like to acknowledge.

    Most importantly, the members of Joy Division were/are notoriously contrary. I believe I’m upholding the spirit of that contrariness with my stance.

    Johnnie Marr’s comment, aimed at Dave was perfect, but carried moral authority because he was the guitarist of the band in question.

    • kerrymccarthy  On February 13, 2012 at 12:36 am

      I know U2 were influenced by them, and Bono liked to claim they were occupying similar territory, but that doesn’t make them good. It’s the pomposity I can’t bear. I think One is a good song.

      And in a similar spirit of contrariness, I’d say that I carry more moral authority re Joy Division than Peter Hook does these days!

Leave a Reply

