Commercial break

Last week I stumbled by pure chance upon a great little shop in Warren Street in London. It’s at no. 12 I think, just down from the tube station. It’s mostly a takeaway, run by lovely people, with all sorts of veggie/ vegan sandwiches, cakes, smoothies, plus a big selection of vegetarian Indian food, including a few curries with soya ‘chicken’, which I’ve never seen anywhere before. Chinese places, yes, but not Indian. There are a few seats in there, or you can get a takeaway, including a thali platter with bhaji, pakora, curries, pickles… I was on my way to Heathrow, so I just had a date, oats and banana soya milk smoothie, but the food looked great. It’s called the Health Centre something…or Healthy Food Centre? (Now been told – it’s the Health Food Centre). If you’re in the Warren Street/ Tottenham Court Road/ Euston area it’s worth checking it out.

And for Bristol folk… Shane, who is a local raw food/ vegan chef, is now working at the Arc cafe in Broad Street. When I first met him he was wearing a black and white cow costume, trying to lure passers-by into the Bethesda Methodist Church on Church Road to sample some free vegetarian food. The second time I met him he was doing the cooking at FoodCycle’s community cafe in Easton. Here’s a recent review of Arc http://bristolculture.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/arc-bristol/.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • badnewswade  On February 19, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Very nice, Kerry.

    Is it still your party’s policy to force people to work for no wages?

    • kerrymccarthy  On February 20, 2012 at 12:03 am

      Nice try. You don’t get to choose the topics. I do. My blog, my rules.

Leave a Reply

