Today I started blogging again (where have I heard that before?)

A new parliamentary session is upon us and that means it’s time to start blogging again (my blog, my rules).

I may, should I discover the energy and the enthusiasm, not to mention the ego that leads me to believe that you might be interested in hearing what I have to say, be blogging soon about the content-lite Queen’s Speech and an elected mayor for Bristol. Lots of colleagues coming up to me asking why Bristol got a different result to the other cities.

I will also be rebutting scurillous and demeaning allegations made by a Labour comrade on Twitter, accusing me of being the same height as a king penguin (maximum height 3’1″ – I googled it during the boring bits of Cameron’s speech today – of which there were many. I know a LOT about penguins now).

And as is my wont, there will be some musings on music and some top tunes too.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Philip  On May 9, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    Good to have you back.

  • John Kimble  On May 14, 2012 at 7:38 am

    I think all politicians should be required to inform us what they’re up to in this way and be so easily contactable and subject to scrutiny.

    In the spirit of this, I see a post from you in October backing a campaign against female genital mutilation which is good to see:
    http://www.kerrymccarthymp.org/news/westminster_news/news.aspx?p=109963

    In light of recent deaths and in order to ensure all children are equally protected from such mutilations without their consent, a campaign has now been launched against male genital mutilation too, with particular attention paid to Bristol:

    http://endmalecircumcision.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/bristol-compromise-part-2-tackling.html

    My question to Kerry is do you also support the campaign against male genital mutilation and what do you think the best ways to put a stop to it?

    Thanks.

  • kerrymccarthy  On May 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I think they are very different issues, and I don’t think it helps against FGM to start talking about male circumcision in the same terms.

  • John Kimble  On May 15, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    No they are exactly the same, the dangerous and unnecessary mutilation of a child’s genitals without their consent on the orders of someone’s imaginary friend in the sky thousands of years ago.

    Some forms of FGM are actually far less severe than MGM so you need to get your facts right for a start.

    Thanks for at least replying (even if it’s clearly the wrong).

Leave a Reply

